“being on the same page” and other reflections

Today was a good experience for some realizations.  And saying that life is but ordinary would be an understatement. Because underneath all your daily tasks, even your conversations with different people even those you usually talk to, can shed a different light on your consciousness.  Because whether we like it or not, these very tasks and conversations we had may also give a different reading to them and if one wouldn’t at least give time to reflect on it, would entail misunderstandings or worse, frustrations.

So for today, I hope to share those realizations I was referring to. It’s already 12:16 AM in my watch. I actually had a very tiring but fruitful day, and yet I suddenly had the energy to put my thoughts into this blog.

  1. There can be things that are beyond your control. You may have to let go, but it doesn’t mean you can’t do anything about it.  I had this task that has been pending for a month already. I promised that I will do it once I’m finished on other urgent tasks. But those urgent tasks just kept on coming, if not piling up.  While those that are not urgent before but nevertheless were important, have become urgent because the time ceased as I attended to the earlier ones. Came today that 2 hours before my work officially ends (which happened because I had to finish an important task that I wanted to submit today as well), I realized that this task that was extended several times because of what happened was due today.  This task, which I already ranted about during the first few minutes of those 2 hours, really seemed very hard as I was tasked to do a creative output of a report that was usually being done through technical writing. Poor me, I’m not versed creatively when it comes to reports; I really had to re-learn this way of writing and do a layout of the report.  By the way, this report also needs to be presented creatively.  Its 30 minutes and I’m still re-learning it.  I resorted into telling myself and my boss that I cannot meet the extended deadline. Saddened by that fact, I stared on my ‘draft output’ glaring on my monitor.  Glaring as it is, however, I still pushed myself to write a few lines on it. I thought, “just imagine that you are writing a blog post”.  Lo and behold, I didn’t notice that I already began and completed the starting page and paragraphs. So besides telling the fact of not meeting the deadline today, I added a postscript as well – “but I will give it to you tomorrow”. Yes, I let go of the situation that was really impossible for me at the time (or so I thought it IS impossible) but placing determination to give yourself an extra push will help you accomplish almost anything.  Remember, little steps will still take us somewhere.are we facing a wall for a dead end or maybe we just need to turn a few degrees to continue?
  2. A crowd completes a scene; tells a story. I just finished watching a film that shares the story of working as an ‘extra’ in films and TV shows. It was told that it is them who are usually overlooked at in productions or even when shows and films are released.  They are usually those characters who were taken with no faces and even no lines to deliver.  And if there is, no one would remember them of neither their role nor their name.  But think of it, is it possible that there will be scenes for coffee shops, the market, a commuter bus, or a neighborhood without them? Hence, there may be not much to be told if main and support casts will only be given credit for.  So no matter how your situation may have placed you among the crowd even for a while or for a very long time, you too, could shape what other people think or feel. Hence, you are more than you think you are.crowd
  3.  Lastly, as I close to my today’s journey, my spontaneity in my conversation topics with a very dear friend caught me off-guard when I was asked that “we are on the same page, aren’t we?”  To be honest, when an idea or experience struck me, I would recall other more ideas and experiences related to it and lump it in a single conversation.  And this idea recently I found really interesting because it’s like a coming of age movie flick wherein different people just became so interested and seemingly obsessed in a single idea and eventually, there are so many characters who are involved.  I would sometimes talk about it in a comedic matter just to liven the recollection up a bit. When this happens, I just let the ideas flow.  Most of the time, I enjoy doing it because I get to share my thoughts as well as let loose of myself a little.  Nevertheless, I only do this towards the people I know and trust very well, which I’m glad I have. But spontaneity and talking on certain things (no matter how seemingly entertaining or crude they are to you) also has caveats even if you are speaking to people you trust and comfortable with.  Much more, if you kept on bringing it up, you can either forget to reassure that they get the point why you are talking about it or overlook the fact that they were already involved on the idea or experience that you brought up.  And if we forget or overlook these things, a single question, may just mute your synapses that very moment.  Like this friend of mine, when I was talking about it, I think that person’s impression was that I really, really like the idea and therefore must proceed towards it at the soonest possible time which I think made it very uncomfortable for my friend.  So when the question was asked, it really sounded very commanding to me that it made me pull myself away from my friend. My talk then became minimal during the rest of our conversation – mad because it was the second time that I was told by the same person but was still struggling to see the reason behind it and reflect on it. It came to a point that it irritated me even, because I felt that I was treated like a child who needs to behave. Later on, I made a reminder to myself to be more careful in sharing my thoughts, even towards the people I know, because one may notice that one can actually hurt the person one is talking to or worse, one’s self.IMG_0230

Much had happened during the day, but yes, the experience was still worth it.

Leave a Reply

