Lights: Silence in Celebration, Celebration in Silence

Believe me, I celebrated the New Year’s eve.  Well it’s just minus the long playlist of loud music played through surround-sound speakers and amplifiers until five in the morning the next day; plates of dishes overflowing the dining table, taking note of the sugar and fat-filled fare; relatives and neighbors knocking at your door to celebrate and greet you; pressing your all-time favorite songs on the videoke machine and just belting without minding the tone and the timing; and lighting firecrackers with rocket-launch loudness.  To add to that, I had little mishaps just hours before the turn of the new year.  But yes, I managed to celebrate.

After attending a New Year’s eve mass; feasting on oranges, longgan, and turkey and chicken meat-loafs, not to mention the pancit that came from one of our neighbors; and just watching my family sending SMS to greet their friends, peak through our house’ metal grills to watch others light two, five (but not more than ten) firecrackers; and pump a few dance steps, thanks to my MP3 and my trusty earphones, I went for my camera and set on.

In this feature, I went for the simple things – those that are small, seen only for a while at least not after eleven months; even some so silent you would not be able to hear all of them put-together with all the noise that came along the celebration; yet the ones that continuously celebrate for us as we leave them in the dark.

Lights – these remind of celebration and silence; of reflection and motivation; of a new year.  Its simplicity just stands in wonder as it either flicks as they are or adorns everything or anything else.

Shot in between the videoke songs, firecrackers, and upbeat music, the two selections are made under f/4, 1/2 sec., 0E, ISO-1600, at 55 mm focal length.

IMG_0014_JJMD

IMG_0015_JJMD

2 thoughts on “Lights: Silence in Celebration, Celebration in Silence

  1. Thanks for your personal marvelous posting! I certainly enjoyed reading it,
    you happen to be a great author. I will make sure to bookmark
    your blog and may come back sometime soon. I want to encourage that you continue
    your great posts, have a nice day!

  2. Thank you for appreciating my post. I really put so much reflection on my features as I love expressing my thoughts through my photos and my writing. Do stay tuned for future postings. You are also welcome to suggest some ideas for upcoming features. Thanks, again!

Leave a Reply

